Titular Church of Santa Maria Immacolata

His Eminence Wilton Cardinal Gregory Took Possession of the Titular Church of Santa Maria Immacolata in Rome on September 27, 2021.

What is a Titular Church?

During the third and fourth centuries, as regions of Rome were divided into ecclesiastical districts, the word “titulus” referred to the early Christian churches located around Rome. “Titular” denoted the name of the founder or proprietor who held property for the Universal Church. Today, the granting of a titular church signifies the bond of unity between a particular local church and the Church of Rome. The patronal relationship of a Cardinal Priest to his titular church includes the inscription of his name and coat of arms on a plaque within the church, in addition to maintenance and restoration responsibility.

Significance for the Archdiocese of Washington

Mary, the Immaculate Conception is patroness of the Church in the United States, making this bond of unity in faith that we here in Washington share with Rome all the more special.

Cardinal Gregory reverences the cross inside his titular church in Rome.The Rite of Possession

The Rite of Possession of a titular church takes place within the context of a solemn celebration of the Eucharist. The rite begins when a representative of the pope formally welcomes the cardinal at the door of the church. The cardinal reverences a small crucifix presented to him on behalf of the pope and sprinkles the congregation with holy water. After processing to the tabernacle, the cardinal kneels in a moment of silent prayer before the Blessed Sacrament.

Following the entrance hymn, the Sign of the Cross and the introductory liturgical greeting, a papal bull assigning the titular church to the cardinal is read aloud. A solemn celebration of Mass follows, highlighting the Eucharist as the source and summit of life in the Universal Church.

What is a Cardinal Priest?

There are three orders within the College of Cardinals: Cardinal Bishop, Cardinal Priest, and Cardinal Deacon. Cardinal Bishops are those who serve as prefects of Vatican congregations, such as the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith. Cardinal Priests serve as metropolitan archbishops. The lowest ranking cardinals, Cardinal Deacons, are either officials of the Roman Curia or theologians who have been honored by the pope for their contribution to the Church.

Cardinal Gregory takes possession of his titular church, sealing his relationship with Diocese of Rome

ROME (CNS) –Ten months after Pope Francis elevated him into the College of Cardinals…

Cardinal Gregory greets parishioners of titular church in Italian, parishioners respond with prayers for the cardinal

Cardinal Wilton D. Gregory portrait in Rome

When he took possession Sept. 27, 2021 of his titular church in Rome, Washington Cardinal Wilton Gregory…