Two Catholic Schools Receive National Education Honor

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Schools among only 50 private schools nationwide to be recognized with Blue Ribbon award.

WASHINGTON – Two schools in the Archdiocese of Washington were recognized Tuesday by the U.S. Department of Education as National Blue Ribbon Schools in recognition of their academic achievement as America’s most successful schools.

The two schools are Our Lady of Lourdes School in Bethesda, Md., and Cardinal Hickey Academy in Owings, Md.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students are performing at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students’ levels of achievement. The awards are given annually by the United States Department of Education.

In 2015, 50 private schools and 285 public schools were chosen from across the nation. To be chosen, schools must go through a competitive application process and demonstrate a strong commitment to educational excellence for all students.

The two Catholic schools in the archdiocese honored as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2015 can attribute their success to their high academic standards and close-knit community. The schools have strong test scores and comprehensive curriculum with varied instructional methods. Community service is also an integral part of the schools with students encouraged to get involved.

The Department of Education will formally honor the schools with their National Blue Ribbon School awards at a conference and awards ceremony November 9-10 in Washington, D.C.

National Blue Ribbon Schools in the Archdiocese of Washington

Archdiocesan Schools

  • Cardinal Hickey Academy, Owings, Md. (2015)
  • Our Lady of Lourdes, Bethesda, Md. (2015)
  • Holy Cross School, Garrett Park, Md. (2013)
  • St. John the Evangelist School, Silver Spring, Md. (2013)
  • St. Peter School, Washington, D.C. (2013)
  • Blessed Sacrament School, Washington, D.C. (2012)
  • Father Andrew White, SJ School,  Leonardtown, Md. (2012)
  • St. Peter’s School, Olney, Md. (2012)
  • St. Jane de Chantal School, Bethesda, Md. (2011 and 1987)
  • St. Bartholomew School, Bethesda, Md. (2011)
  • Mary of Nazareth School, Darnestown, Md. (2011)
  • St. Mary School, Rockville, Md. (2011)
  • St. John the Baptist School, Silver Spring, Md. (2010)
  • Holy Redeemer School, Kensington, Md. (2009)
  • Our Lady of Mercy School, Potomac, Md. (2009 and 1998)
  • School of the Little Flower, Bethesda, Md. (2008)
  • Our Lady of Victory School, Washington, D.C. (2007)
  • St. Andrew Apostle School, Silver Spring, Md. (2007 and 1989)
  • St. Bernadette School, Silver Spring, Md. (2003 and 2000)
  • St. Camillus Catholic School, Silver Spring, Md. (1996)
  • St. Catherine Labouré School, Wheaton, Md. (1993)
  • St. Elizabeth School, Rockville, Md. (1985)

Independent Catholic Schools

  • Our Lady of Good Counsel High School, Wheaton, Md. (2001 and 1992)
  • Academy of the Holy Cross, Kensington, Md. (1997)
  • Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart, Bethesda, Md. (1992 and 1986)
  • DeMatha Catholic High School, Hyattsville, Md. (1990 and 1983)
  • Connelly School of the Holy Child, Potomac, Md. (1988)
  • Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School, Washington, D.C. (1986)
  • Elizabeth Seton High School, Bladensburg, Md. (1984)


The Archdiocese of Washington is home to 96 archdiocesan and independent Catholic schools in Washington, D.C., and Calvert, Charles, Montgomery, Prince George’s and St. Mary’s counties in Maryland.

Chieko Noguchi or Lindsey Frechou
[email protected]