Three Catholic Schools Receive National Education Honor

Schools among only 50 private schools nationwide to be recognized with Blue Ribbon award

September 24, 2013

Three schools in the Archdiocese of Washington today were recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as National Blue Ribbon Schools in recognition of their academic achievement as America’s most successful schools.

The three schools are Holy Cross School in Garrett Park, Md., St. John the Evangelist School in Silver Spring, Md., and St. Peter School in Washington, D.C.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students are performing at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students’ levels of achievement. The awards are given annually by the Department of Education.

In 2013, 50 private and 236 public schools were chosen from across the nation. To be chosen, schools must go through a competitive application process and demonstrate a strong commitment to educational excellence for all students. In the 30-year history of the program, 27 schools in the archdiocese have received this prestigious honor.

The three Catholic schools honored as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2013 can attribute their success to their high academic standards and close-knit community. The schools have strong test scores and comprehensive curriculum with varied instructional methods. Community service is also an integral part of the schools with students encouraged to get involved.

The Department of Education will formally honor the schools with their National Blue Ribbon School awards at a conference and awards ceremony November 18-19 in Washington, D.C.

Celebrations to honor this national distinction were held at the schools this morning after the Department of Education made its public announcement. Bishop Barry C. Knestout, auxiliary bishop of the Archdiocese of Washington, joined Sister Kathleen Lannak, I.H.M., principal at St. John the Evangelist School, for an assembly with the students. Deacon Bert L’Homme, superintendent for catholic schools, joined Principal Jennifer Ketchum for a reception at St. Peter’s with parents and students. Kelly Branaman, associate superintendent for catholic schools, joined Holy Cross Principal Lisa Kane for a prayer service and reception with students and teachers.

National Blue Ribbon Schools in the Archdiocese of Washington

Archdiocesan Schools

  • Holy Cross School, Garrett Park, Md. (2013)
  • St. John the Evangelist School, Silver Spring, Md. (2013)
  • St. Peter School, Washington, D.C. (2013)
  • Blessed Sacrament School, Washington, D.C. (2012)
  • Father Andrew White, SJ School, Leonardtown, Md. (2012)
  • St. Peter’s School, Olney, Md. (2012)
  • St. Jane de Chantal School, Bethesda, Md. (2011 and 1987)
  • St. Bartholomew School, Bethesda, Md. (2011)
  • Mary of Nazareth School, Darnestown, Md. (2011)
  • St. Mary School, Rockville, Md. (2011)
  • St. John the Baptist School, Silver Spring, Md. (2010)
  • Holy Redeemer School, Kensington, Md. (2009)
  • Our Lady of Mercy School, Potomac, Md. (2009 and 1998)
  • School of the Little Flower, Bethesda, Md. (2008)
  • Our Lady of Victory School, Washington, D.C. (2007)
  • St. Andrew Apostle School, Silver Spring, Md. (2007 and 1989)
  • St. Bernadette School, Silver Spring, Md. (2003 and 2000)
  • St. Camillus Catholic School, Silver Spring, Md. (1996)
  • St. Catherine Labouré School, Wheaton, Md. (1993)
  • St. Elizabeth School, Rockville, Md. (1985)

Independent Catholic Schools

  • Our Lady of Good Counsel High School, Wheaton, Md. (2001 and 1992)
  • Academy of the Holy Cross, Kensington, Md. (1997)
  • Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart, Bethesda, Md. (1992 and 1986)
  • DeMatha Catholic High School, Hyattsville, Md. (1990 and 1983)
  • Connelly School of the Holy Child, Potomac, Md. (1988)
  • Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School, Washington, D.C. (1986)
  • Elizabeth Seton High School, Bladensburg, Md. (1984)

The Archdiocese of Washington is home to over 620,000 Catholics, 139 parishes and 96 Catholic schools, located in Washington, DC, and five Maryland counties: Calvert, Charles, Montgomery, Prince George’s and St. Mary’s.

Office of Media & Public Relations
Secretariat for Communications
[email protected]