Four Catholic Schools in the Archdiocese of Washington Receive 2019 National Blue Ribbon Distinction

Schools among only 50 private schools nationwide to be recognized

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Four Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Washington were recognized today by the U.S. Department of Education as National Blue Ribbon Schools in recognition of their academic achievement as America’s most successful schools. The four schools are:

Blessed Sacrament School in Washington, D.C.*

St. Joseph Regional Catholic School in Beltsville, MD

St. Peter School in Washington, D.C.*

St. Raphael School in Rockville, MD

*This is the second time Blessed Sacrament School and St. Peter School are receiving a Blue Ribbon; they received a Blue Ribbon previously in 2012 and in 2013, respectively.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students are performing at very high levels. The awards are given annually by the United States Department of Education.

In 2019, 50 non-public schools and 312 public schools were chosen from across the nation. To be chosen, schools must go through a competitive application process and demonstrate a strong commitment to educational excellence for all students.

The four Catholic schools in the archdiocese honored as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2019 can attribute their success to their high academic standards and close-knit community. The schools have strong test scores and a comprehensive curriculum with varied instructional methods. Community service is also an integral part of archdiocesan schools and its students are engaged in service within their local communities. Both St. Joseph Regional Catholic School and St. Raphael School are receiving the award for the first time. St. Joseph School becomes only the second Catholic elementary school in Prince George’s County to win the award.

The U.S. Department of Education will formally honor the schools with their National Blue Ribbon School awards at a conference and ceremony on November 14 – November 15, 2019 in Maryland.

National Blue Ribbon Schools in the Archdiocese of Washington

Archdiocesan Catholic Schools

  • Blessed Sacrament School (2012 and 2019)
  • St. Joseph Regional Catholic School
  • St. Peter School (2013 and 2019)
  • St. Raphael School
  • Little Flower School, Bethesda, Md. (2008 and 2017)
  • St. John School, Hollywood, Md. (2017)
  • St. Peter School, Waldorf, Md. (2017)
  • Holy Trinity School, Washington, D.C. (2016)
  • Our Lady of Victory School, Washington, D.C. (2007 and 2016)
  • St. Patrick School, Rockville, Md. (2016)
  • St. Pius X Regional School, Bowie, Md. (2016)
  • Cardinal Hickey Academy, Owings, Md. (2015)
  • Our Lady of Lourdes, Bethesda, Md. (2015)
  • Holy Cross School, Garrett Park, Md. (2013)
  • St. John the Evangelist School, Silver Spring, Md. (2013)
  • St. Peter School, Washington, D.C. (2013)
  • Blessed Sacrament School, Washington, D.C. (2012)
  • Father Andrew White, SJ School, Leonardtown, Md. (2012)
  • St. Peter’s School, Olney, Md. (2012)
  • St. Jane de Chantal School, Bethesda, Md. (2011 and 1987)
  • St. Bartholomew School, Bethesda, Md. (2011)
  • Mary of Nazareth School, Darnestown, Md. (2011)
  • St. Mary School, Rockville, Md. (2011)
  • St. John the Baptist School, Silver Spring, Md. (2010)
  • Holy Redeemer School, Kensington, Md. (2009)
  • Our Lady of Mercy School, Potomac, Md. (2009 and 1998)
  • St. Andrew Apostle School, Silver Spring, Md. (2007 and 1989)
  • St. Bernadette School, Silver Spring, Md. (2003 and 2000)
  • St. Camillus Catholic School, Silver Spring, Md. (1996)
  • St. Catherine Labouré School, Wheaton, Md. (1993)
  • St. Elizabeth School, Rockville, Md. (1985)

Independent Catholic Schools

  • Our Lady of Good Counsel High School, Olney, Md. (2001 and 1992)
  • Academy of the Holy Cross, Kensington, Md. (1997)
  • Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart, Bethesda, Md. (1992 and 1986)
  • DeMatha Catholic High School, Hyattsville, Md. (1990 and 1983)
  • Connelly School of the Holy Child, Potomac, Md. (1988)
  • Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School, Washington, D.C. (1986)
  • Elizabeth Seton High School, Bladensburg, Md. (1984)