Cardinal Wuerl to Decree Synod to Coincide with the 75th Anniversary of the Archdiocese of Washington in 2014

May 17, 2013

On Pentecost Sunday, May 19, 2013, Cardinal Donald Wuerl, Archbishop of Washington, will mark the formal beginning of the preparatory phase of the Synod of the Archdiocese of Washington at a Mass.

Sunday, May 19, 2013
11:30 a.m.
Cathedral of St. Matthew the Apostle
1725 Rhode Island Avenue, NW
Washington, DC

Last August, Cardinal Wuerl announced his intention to convene an archdiocesan Synod to coincide with the 75th anniversary of the archdiocese in 2014. The goal of the Synod is to give the faithful from across the archdiocese the opportunity to reflect on the mission of the Archdiocese of Washington, to provide their insight on the life of the local Church and how to best prepare to carry forward the work of the archdiocese in the future. Over the last few months, parishioners of the Archdiocese of Washington have been invited to participate in listening sessions at parishes and through online communications in order to provide their feedback. Official participants of the Synod include the auxiliary bishops, priests, religious sisters and brothers who serve in the archdiocese, and lay members from all 14 deaneries (geographic jurisdictions) throughout the Archdiocese of Washington’s five Maryland counties and the District of Columbia. They will reflect on all the observations that have been shared in the listening sessions and prepare the conclusions of the Synod. The Synod will conclude on Pentecost in 2014 (June 8, 2014) when the priorities of the archdiocesan Church and any declarations and statutes will be promulgated.

The decree to initiate the preparatory phase will be made at the Mass which is on the Solemnity of Pentecost, the day which marks the end of the Easter season and celebrates the descent of the Holy Spirit upon the Apostles and the Virgin Mary.

The Archdiocese of Washington is home to over 620,000 Catholics in Washington, DC, and five Maryland counties: Calvert, Charles, Montgomery, Prince George’s and St. Mary’s.

Office of Media and Public Relations
Secretariat for Communications
[email protected]