Four Catholic Schools in Archdiocese of Washington Receive National Education Honor

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Schools among only 50 private schools nationwide to be recognized with Blue Ribbon award

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Four Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Washington were recognized today by the U.S. Department of Education as National Blue Ribbon Schools in recognition of their academic achievement as America’s most successful schools. The four schools are:

Holy Trinity School in Washington
Our Lady of Victory School in Washington*
St. Patrick School in Rockville, Md.
St. Pius X Regional School in Bowie, Md.**

*This is the second time Our Lady of Victory School is receiving a Blue Ribbon; they received a Blue Ribbon previously in 2007.

**St. Pius X Regional School is the first archdiocesan elementary school in Prince George’s County to receive a Blue Ribbon.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students are performing at very high levels. The awards are given annually by the United States Department of Education.

In 2016, 50 private schools and 279 public schools were chosen from across the nation. To be chosen, schools must go through a competitive application process and demonstrate a strong commitment to educational excellence for all students. The four Catholic schools in the archdiocese honored as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2016 can attribute their success to their high academic standards and close-knit community. The schools have strong test scores and comprehensive curriculum with varied instructional methods. Community service is also an integral part of archdiocesan schools and its students are engaged in service within their local communities.

The Department of Education will formally honor the schools with their National Blue Ribbon School awards at a conference and ceremony, November 7-8 in Washington, D.C.

National Blue Ribbon Schools in the Archdiocese of Washington

Archdiocesan Catholic Schools

  • Holy Trinity School, Washington, D.C. (2016)
  • Our Lady of Victory School, Washington, D.C. (2007 and 2016)
  • St. Patrick School, Rockville, Md. (2016)
  • St. Pius X Regional School, Bowie, Md. (2016)
  • Cardinal Hickey Academy, Owings, Md. (2015)
  • Our Lady of Lourdes, Bethesda, Md. (2015)
  • Holy Cross School, Garrett Park, Md. (2013)
  • St. John the Evangelist School, Silver Spring, Md. (2013)
  • St. Peter School, Washington, D.C. (2013)
  • Blessed Sacrament School, Washington, D.C. (2012)
  • Father Andrew White, SJ School,  Leonardtown, Md. (2012)
  • St. Peter’s School, Olney, Md. (2012)
  • St. Jane de Chantal School, Bethesda, Md. (2011 and 1987)
  • St. Bartholomew School, Bethesda, Md. (2011)
  • Mary of Nazareth School, Darnestown, Md. (2011)
  • St. Mary School, Rockville, Md. (2011)
  • St. John the Baptist School, Silver Spring, Md. (2010)
  • Holy Redeemer School, Kensington, Md. (2009)
  • Our Lady of Mercy School, Potomac, Md. (2009 and 1998)
  • Little Flower School, Bethesda, Md. (2008)
  • St. Andrew Apostle School, Silver Spring, Md. (2007 and 1989)
  • St. Bernadette School, Silver Spring, Md. (2003 and 2000)
  • St. Camillus Catholic School, Silver Spring, Md. (1996)
  • St. Catherine Labouré School, Wheaton, Md. (1993)
  • St. Elizabeth School, Rockville, Md. (1985)

Independent Catholic Schools

  • Our Lady of Good Counsel High School, Olney, Md. (2001 and 1992)
  • Academy of the Holy Cross, Kensington, Md. (1997)
  • Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart, Bethesda, Md. (1992 and 1986)
  • DeMatha Catholic High School, Hyattsville, Md. (1990 and 1983)
  • Connelly School of the Holy Child, Potomac, Md. (1988)
  • Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School, Washington, D.C. (1986)
  • Elizabeth Seton High School, Bladensburg, Md. (1984)


The Archdiocese of Washington is home to 95 archdiocesan and independent Catholic schools in Washington, D.C., and Calvert, Charles, Montgomery, Prince George’s and St. Mary’s counties in Maryland.

Chieko Noguchi
[email protected]