Youth Ministry/CYO Honors Lt. Governor Steele and Youth Leaders

May 09, 2005

Maryland Lieutenant Governor Michael S. Steele will receive the James Cardinal Hickey National Figure Award, the highest honor given by the Archdiocese of Washington’s Office of Youth Ministry/Catholic Youth Organization (CYO) at the organization’s 60th Annual Awards Banquet:

Tuesday, May 10
7:30 p.m. (dinner and awards ceremony)
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
5701 Marinelli Road, North Bethesda

The James Cardinal Hickey National Figure Award is presented to an individual each year who exemplifies excellence in career and personal life and who is a positive role model for both youth and adults. Lt. Gov. Steele is active as a member of the Archdiocese of Washington, particularly in his parish, St. Mary in Landover Hills, Maryland. Recent winners have included Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia and University of Maryland head football coach Ralph Freidgen. The national award was established in 1965.

Thirteen additional awards to adults and youth involved with youth ministry or CYO sports in the Archdiocese will be given at the banquet. Over 25,000 young people participate each year in Archdiocesan CYO sports, youth ministry programming, retreats and scouting.

Mr. G. Paul Bollwerk, III, a parishioner at St. Jane Frances de Chantal, Bethesda, will receive the Msgr. Thomas B. Dade Award, which is given annually to an individual who exemplifies Christian example and service to the Church, particularly the youth.

Monsignor Barry Knestout, pastor of St. John the Evangelist, Silver Spring and past director of the Office of Youth Ministry/CYO, will receive the Msgr. William J. Awalt Award, given each year to a priest, deacon, religious sister or brother in ministry to youth in the Archdiocese who strives to faithfully live out the call of service to youth and young adults.

Additional awardees to be recognized at the May 10 Archdiocesan Youth Ministry/CYO Award Banquet include the following parishioners:

Msgr. James Brady Outstanding Scouting Leadership Awards: Martin P. Brown Jr., Our Lady of Mercy, Potomac and Brenda Murtha, St. Mary, Barnesville

Outstanding Athletic Director Award: Kenneth J. Lozupone, St. Mary, Landover Hills

Outstanding Coach Award: Mr. Dennis Dwyer, St. Bernadette, Silver Spring; Frances Fendley, St. Hugh, Greenbelt; and Darrell Tucker, Our Lady of Perpetual Help, Washington, DC (SE)

Outstanding Athlete Award: Steven Wheeler, St. John the Baptist, Silver Spring and Kelly Hammond, St. Edward the Confessor, Bowie

Outstanding Catholic Youth Award: Nicholas DeStefano, Jesus the Good Shepherd, Dunkirk and Ishioma Opia, St. Bernard of Clairvaux, Riverdale Park

Outstanding Adult Leadership Award: Justin Russell, St. Rose of Lima, Gaithersburg.


Susan Gibbs
Director of Communications
[email protected]