Superintendent, Catholic School Principals Celebrate Principal of the Year

January 13, 2005

Mr. Chris Kelly, principal of Assumption School in Southeast, DC, will be honored as the Archdiocese of Washington’s Principal of the Year during a meeting of all Archdiocesan Catholic elementary school principals:

Tuesday, January 18, 2005
12:30 p.m.
St. Hugh School
145 Crescent Road, Greenbelt, MD

The Superintendent of Catholic Schools, Dr. Patricia Weitzel-O’Neill, will present Kelly with a $500 check and a certificate, and recognize prior Principal of the Year recipients. The award will be followed by a reception with cake and balloons.

Kelly has served at Assumption for 16 years, six years as a teacher and ten years as principal, and is deeply committed to serving students in the inner city. In summer 2004, he coordinated the testing and screening of hundreds of District students who were awarded DC Opportunity Scholarships and wanted to attend a Catholic school. Kelly’s efforts were key in helping to ensure that nearly 600 elementary students were successfully placed in Catholic schools. The Principal of the Year is nominated by colleagues and other professionals for excellence in Catholic school leadership, outstanding service to other principals and commitment to the Archdiocesan mission for Catholic schools. The winner is chosen by the Archdiocese’s Catholic Schools Office.

Assumption serves nearly 180 students in grades PreK-8 and is one of 13 schools in the Archdiocese’s Center City Consortium. Working in partnership with the business community, the Consortium brings new resources, services, tuition aid and capital improvements to Catholic schools in financially challenged neighborhoods of our nation’s capital. At least 50 percent of Consortium families are at or below poverty level and 70 percent are single-parent households.

The Archdiocese of Washington includes 115 elementary, secondary, special schools and early childhood programs serving nearly 34,000 students in the District of Columbia and Calvert, Charles, Montgomery, Prince George’s and St. Mary’s counties in Maryland.

Jennifer Reed
Asst. Dir. of Communications, Schools
[email protected]