Four Catholic Schools Win National Blue Ribbon Honor

Schools among only 49 private schools nationwide to be recognized

September 15, 2011

Four schools in the Archdiocese of Washington have received the U.S. Department of Education Blue Ribbon Schools Award in recognition of the schools’ academic achievement as America’s most successful schools. The four schools are:

St. Jane de Chantal School (Bethesda)
St. Bartholomew School (Bethesda)
Mary of Nazareth School (Darnestown)
St. Mary School (Rockville)

This is the largest number of archdiocesan schools to receive the coveted award at one time. The No Child Left Behind-Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors private and public K-12 schools that are either academically superior or that demonstrate dramatic gains in student achievement. Blue Ribbon Awards are given annually by the United States Department of Education to 49 private and 256 public schools this year in recognition of outstanding private and public elementary and secondary schools throughout the United States. To be chosen, schools must go through a competitive application process and demonstrate academic superiority or dramatic gains in student achievement. The U.S. Department of Education also notes that a school must demonstrate a strong commitment to educational excellence for all students.

To demonstrate academic superiority, schools must be in the top 10% of schools nationally in both reading and math or in the top 10% on assessments for the highest grade in the school compared to national norms.

The four Catholic schools honored as National Blue Ribbon schools for 2011 can attribute their success to their high academic standards and close-knit community. The schools have strong test scores and comprehensive curriculum with varied instructional methods. Community service is also an integral part of the schools with students encouraged to get involved.

The Department of Education will honor the schools with their National Blue Ribbon School awards at a conference and awards ceremony Nov. 14-15 in Washington, D.C.

The Archdiocese of Washington is home to 98 archdiocesan and independent Catholic schools, educating nearly 30,000 students in Washington, DC and Calvert, Charles, Montgomery, Prince George’s and St. Mary’s counties in Maryland.

National Blue Ribbon Schools in the Archdiocese of Washington

Archdiocesan Schools
• St. Jane de Chantal School (2011 and 1987)
• St. Bartholomew School (2011)
• Mary of Nazareth School (2011)
• St. Mary School (Rockville) (2011)
• St. John the Baptist School (2010)
• Holy Redeemer School (Kensington) (2009)
• Our Lady of Mercy School (2009 and 1998)
• School of the Little Flower (2008)
• Our Lady of Victory School (2007)
• St. Andrew the Apostle School (2007 and 1989)
• St. Bernadette School (2003 and 2000)
• St. Camillus Catholic School (1996)
• St. Catherine Laboure School (1993)
• St. Elizabeth School (1985)

Independent Catholic Schools
• Our Lady of Good Counsel High School (2001 and 1992)
• Academy of the Holy Cross (1997)
• Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart (1992 and 1986)
• DeMatha Catholic High School (1990 and 1983)
• Connelly School of the Holy Child (1988)
• Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School (1986)
• Elizabeth Seton High School (1984)

Chieko Noguchi
Office of Communications
[email protected]