Celebrating 100 Years of Holy Redeemer Parish in College Park
June 08, 2012
In June 1912, Holy Redeemer Catholic Church was founded in College Park on a quiet stretch of Berwyn Road. In its early days, the parish was one building. In 1932, a school was built across the street. In 1952, a larger church was constructed next to the school, and that building still serves as the current church. The original church still stands and is now called Fealy Hall, named for one of the first pastors, Rev. Leo Fealy.
Today, the parish community is vibrant and includes many generations of families. To mark the anniversary, Cardinal Donald Wuerl, Archbishop of Washington, will celebrate a Mass on the actual anniversary of the founding of the church.
Sunday, June 17, 2012
4902 Berwyn Road
College Park, MD
The Mass will be followed by a parish-wide picnic.
Additionally, the parish is creating a historical book about the parish over the past 100 years with photos and information about parish community through the years. There is also the Holy Redeemer Parishioners History Project, which pulls together the collective stories and memories of parishioners and friends of the parish, past and present.
The Archdiocese of Washington is home to over 600,000 Catholics living in Washington, DC, and five Maryland counties: Calvert, Charles, Montgomery, Prince George’s and St. Mary’s.
Office of Media and Public Relations
Secretariat for Communications