Catholic Schools Start Year With Opening Mass, Awards

August 21, 2006

Nearly 3,000 school principals, teachers and staff from the 111 Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Washington will open the new school year with a Mass celebrated by Archbishop Donald W. Wuerl, Archbishop of Washington.

Monday, August 28, 2006
10:00 a.m.
Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception
4th St. and Michigan Ave., NE, Washington, DC

Classes for the nearly 33,000 Catholic school students begin the next day, Tuesday, August 29.

Immediately following the opening Mass, a recognition ceremony will mark special anniversaries for teachers, principals and schools. One elementary teacher will receive the Sister Mary Lucille, RSM, Outstanding Teacher Award.

Four schools with special anniversaries will be recognized: Our Lady of Perpetual Help School, Washington, DC (SE) and St. Anthony School, Washington, DC (NE), both celebrating 85 years; and St. Jude School, Rockville, MD and St. Peter School, Waldorf, MD, each celebrating 50 years.

Eighteen Catholic elementary school principals and teachers who are celebrating significant years of service to Catholic education also will be honored.

Those celebrating 25 years are June Felix, St. Gabriel, DC; Maryanne Hellender, Little Flower, Bethesda; Charlene Hursey (principal), Our Lady of Perpetual Help, DC; Maxine Loyd, Father Andrew White, Leonardtown; Margaret Ruppert, St. John the Evangelist, Silver Spring; Michael Thomason, St. Bernadette, Silver Spring; Katherine Wallace, St. Catherine Laboure, Wheaton; and Julie Weller, St. Michael, Ridge.

Marking 30 years of service are Sarah Campell, Our Lady of Victory, DC; Carol Dunn, Holy Cross, Garrett Park; Mary Simmons, St. Mary, Bryantown; Susan Varrone (principal), St. Mary, Landover Hills; and Terry Well, Blessed Sacrament, DC.

The 40-year honoree is Sister Mary Ann Adams, IHM, Little Flower, Bethesda.

Three teachers will be recognized for 50 years of service: Norma Schlorb, Our Lady of Victory, DC; Sister Ritamary Mayan, IHM, Little Flower, Bethesda; and Sister Nena Larocco, St. Bartholomew, Bethesda.

Recognition for 60 years of service will go to Sister Marie Louise Koenig, St. Mary, Bryantown.

The 111 Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Washington include 85 elementary schools, 17 secondary schools and 9 early learning centers. The schools are located in the District of Columbia and the five Maryland counties of Calvert, Charles, Montgomery, Prince George’s and St. Mary’s.

Catholic school information is online at

Susan Gibbs
Director of Communications
[email protected]