Archdiocese of Washington Youth Ministry/CYO Honors Youth Leaders

May 19, 2009

Robert J. McCarty, Executive Director of the National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry received the James Cardinal Hickey National Figure Award, the highest honor given by the Archdiocese of Washington’s Office of Youth Ministry/Catholic Youth Organization (CYO) at the organization’s 64th Annual Awards Banquet on Wednesday, May 13.

The James Cardinal Hickey National Figure Award is presented to an individual each year who exemplifies excellence in career and personal life and who is a positive role model for both youth and adults. Robert McCarty has led the National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry, which advocates for and supports Catholic youth ministry on the national, diocesan and local level, since 1997. He is also active in youth ministry at his own parish – St. Francis of Assisi in Fulton, Maryland. Recent winners of the award have included Robert Talbot, former athletic director for The Catholic University of America and Anthony Williams, former mayor of Washington, DC.

Ten additional awards were given to adults and youth involved with youth ministry or CYO sports in the archdiocese at the awards banquet, held at the Renaissance Washington, DC hotel. Over 25,000 young people participate each year in archdiocesan CYO sports, youth ministry programming, retreats and scouting.

St. Mary’s County

Father Scott Woods, pastor of St. Peter Claver Parish in St. Inigoes and St. Cecilia Parish in St. Mary’s City, received the Msgr. William J. Awalt Award, given each year to a priest, deacon, religious sister or brother in ministry to youth in the archdiocese who strives to faithfully live out the call of service to youth and young adults.

Prince George’s County

Marysanta Bigony, a member of Ascension Parish in Bowie and an active member of the Religious Activities Committee of the National Catholic Committee on Scouting, received the Msgr. John Brady Award for Catholic Scouting Leadership Award, given each year to an individual for service to scouts of their parish and the archdiocese.

Reginald Grier, a member of Church of the Holy Spirit in Forestville, Maryland, received the Msgr. Thomas B. Dade Award, given annually to an individual who exemplifies Christian example and service to the Church, particularly the youth.

Outstanding Coach Award: Betsy McCauley, Holy Redeemer, College Park and Karen Spruill, St. Hugh of Grenoble, Greenbelt

Outstanding Female Athlete Award: Cate Sheerin, St. Mark, Hyattsville

Outstanding Adult Leadership Award: Cathy Ziegler, Mt. Calvary, Forestville

Montgomery County

Outstanding Athletic Director Award: Tom Serena, St. Bartholomew, Bethesda

Outstanding Coach Award: James Barry, St. Bernadette, Silver Spring

Outstanding Male Athlete Award: Keith Ricca, Shrine of St. Jude, Rockville

Outstanding Female Catholic Youth Award: Sandy Mayhall, Mother Seton, Germantown

Charles County

Outstanding Male Catholic Youth Award: Alex Teeney, Sacred Heart, La Plata

Georgina Stark
Office of Communications
[email protected]