Archbishop Wuerl on Appointment of New Bishops for St. Thomas, Virgin Islands and Wilmington

July 07, 2008

Washington Archbishop Donald W. Wuerl released the following statement today regarding the appointment of Monsignor Herbert Bevard, a priest of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia as Bishop of St. Thomas, Virgin Islands, and the appointment of Baltimore Auxiliary Bishop W. Francis Malooly as Bishop of Wilmington:

“I offer my congratulations and welcome to Bishop-elect Herbert Bevard, who Pope Benedict XVI has appointed as Bishop of St. Thomas, Virgin Islands. Bishop-elect Bevard brings to his new position extensive pastoral experience as pastor, college chaplain and regional vicar, as well as experience serving on archdiocesan and other boards and commissions. All of this will serve him well as diocesan bishop.

“The Diocese of St. Thomas is the suffragan See of the Archdiocese of Washington and as such we enjoy a close relationship with the bishop. On behalf of the auxiliary bishops, priests and faithful of the Archdiocese of Washington, I welcome him and offer our support for his new ministry.

“It is with joy that I welcome the news that Baltimore Auxiliary Bishop Francis Malooly has been named the Bishop of Wilmington. He and I have worked together on many issues, particularly through the Maryland Catholic Conference over the past two years, and I have found him to be a thoughtful and pastoral bishop who has a deep love for the people he serves. I am confident the faithful of Wilmington will find him to be a kind and gentle shepherd.

“At the same time, Bishop Michael Saltarelli will be missed and I offer my deep appreciation to him for his service to the Diocese of Wilmington for nearly eight years, and the collaboration we have shared working nationally on education and catechesis through the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops and regionally through the Maryland Catholic Conference.”

The Archdiocese of Washington includes 580,000 Catholics in Washington, DC and five Maryland counties: Calvert, Charles, Montgomery, Prince George’s and St. Mary’s. The archdiocese and the Diocese of St. Thomas, Virgin Islands form a province, a group of dioceses that have an ecclesiastical relationship. The lead diocese within a province is known as the metropolitan See while the other dioceses are called suffragan Sees.

Susan Gibbs
Director of Communications
[email protected]